Link from "The Legend of Zelda"

Meaning: N/A
Gender: Male
Pronunciation: LEENK
Origin: English
Other forms of the name: Linc

This short and snappy one syllable name really packs a punch. Link is a name I grew up with, as I happily played the old “The Legend of Zelda” games for the nintendo and also watched my brother (as he was the only one who could actually finish it!). My sister and I recently got the latest installment, “The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword” for the Wii and I’ve been reminded how much fun they were.

Though the title is “The Legend of Zelda” the main character is Link. Zelda is a Hyrulian Princess who is usually captured and Link has to rescue her. Some say that Link was given his name because he is the player’s “link” to the world of “Zelda”. The name Link is said to have many meanings, one source listing it is Germanic and means “left-handed”, another says it means “blade”. In the world of “Zelda” it might mean “leader” or “hero” in ancient Hylian.

Link is also a great nickname for Lincoln. Link ranked briefly in 1893 in the US but since then has not appeared. I find that shocking, as you would think more gamer parents would choose this appellation.