"The Oak King" by Ruth Sanderson

Meaning: Nature name
Gender: Male
Pronunciation: OHK
Origin: English
Other forms of the name: Oakley

I really love this name, I adore that hard K at the end and how short but stable it is. Although I can only really imagine this name on a boy, it could be used just as easily for a girl.

The oak is a grand old thing, it is in the genus Quercus which means “oak tree” in Latin. There are about 600 species in Quercus genus. The leaves are beautiful and are spirally arranged, the flowers are called catkins which bloom in the spring, the fruit is the acorn, inside the little cup or cupule is about one seed that takes 6-18 months to mature. The wood of the oak is extremely strong and very resistant to bugs and funguses, when cut a certain way the grain markings are very beautiful and has been prized since the Middle Ages.

The oak is a symbol of strength, it is a common choice for a national tree. England, United States, France, Germany, Wales, Poland, Estonia, and many more have chosen this as their national tree.

The Druids loved to practice their rites in oak groves; mistletoe was one of their favorite magic plants and oak trees often grew it. Oak leaves have a connection with rain too, as goes the Irish saying:

If the oak before the ash,
Then we’ll only have a splash.
If the ash before the oak,
Then we’ll surely have a soak!”

Hollowed oaks were supposed to be the homes of elves, fairies, spirits, or demons. If you passed one you were supposed to turn your coat inside out so their magic couldn’t work. In Celtic Tree Astrology if you are born under the oak (June tenth-July seventh) you are a gentle, nurturing and helpful person who speaks for those who do not have voices.

The Oak King is the Lord of the Greenwood, his is the light twin to the dark Holly King, he rules from Midwinter to Midsummer. In Midwinter the Oak King starts to battle with Holly King for the favor of the Goddess, the Lady of the Greenwood. Each year the Oak King slays the Holly King at Midwinter but the Holly King does not die, just goes to rest in Caer Arianrhod until they battle again at Midsummer. The two never truly kill each other, for they could not exist without one another.

And here is a poem I think is beautiful, “I saw in Louisiana a Live-Oak Growing” by Walt Whitman:

I saw in Louisiana a live-oak growing,
All alone stood it and the moss hung down from the branches,
Without any companion it grew there uttering joyous of dark green,
And its look, rude, unbending, lusty, made me think of myself,
But I wonder’d how it could utter joyous leaves standing alone there
without its friend near, for I knew I could not,
And I broke off a twig with a certain number of leaves upon it and
twined around it a little moss,
And brought it away, and I have placed it in sight in my room,
It is not needed to remind me as of my own dear friends,
(For I believe lately I think of little else than of them,)
Yet it remains to me a curious token, it makes me think of manly love;
For all that, and though the live-oak glistens there in Louisiana
solitary in a wide in a wide flat space,
Uttering joyous leaves all its life without a friend a lover near,
I know very well I could not.”

