Ioan Gruffudd, and Alice Evans

In my old blog I used to feature celebrity’s kids names I liked, so I thought I’d do it again! And I was inspired by Waltzing More Than Matilda’s awesome sibset posts. 

First up is Ioan Gruffudd, and Alice Evans‘ daughter Ella Betsi Janet.

Ioan and Alice met while filming “102 Dalmatians” in 2000 and got married in 2007. Ioan is from Cardiff, Wales, his name Ioan is pronounced YO-ahn and his surname is pronounced like Griffith. Ioan is the Welsh version of the name John. Alice is English but was born in America. She graduated college with a 2:1 in Italian and French. Alice means “of noble kind”.

Alice with Ioan at the "102 Dalmatians" premeire

On September 6, 2009 the couple welcomed their first and so far only child, Ella Betsi Janet Evans Gruffudd. Ella is a Norman French form of the Germanic name Alia, it means “other” or “fairy maiden”. Betsi is a variant of the name Betsy which is a nickname for Elizabeth and Janet for chosen for Alice’s mother who died in 1999, it is a nickname for the Jane.

Ioan, Alice, and Ella

